Awards Show

Brit Awards 2019


Brit Awards 2019: The 2019 Brit Awards are back for another year as the biggest stars in music come together to celebrate a year of musical achievments. The Brit Awards 2019 have rolled around again, and tonight the UK’s most iconic music awards show takes place in London.

Brit Awards 2019: The Brit Awards are back for another year to celebrate the best of pop music in 2019. A wide range of top British talent has been nominated, from Anne-Marie and Dua Lipa to George Ezra and Jorja Smith, and there’ll be live music performances from some of the country’s biggest stars throughout the night.

Anne-Marie and Dua Lipa lead the charge with four nominations each. Anne-Marie has been shortlisted for British Female, British Single, British Artist Video of the Year and British Album of the Year for her debut record Speak Your Mind.

Following her double Brit win last year, Dua Lipa has received two nods in both the British Single and British Artist Video categories, for her track IDGAF and her Calvin Harris collaboration One Kiss.

George Ezra, meanwhile has scored three nominations – for British Male, British Album of the Year and British Single – and Jorja Smith has also notched up three nods for British Female, British Breakthrough, and British Album of the Year.

Calvin Harris, The 1975, Little Mix, Tom Walker, Jess Glynne, Rita Ora, Clean Bandit, Florence + The Machine and Rudimental are all up for two awards.

The statues for this year’s Brits have been designed by architect Sir David Adjaye.

Cast in solid glass, the trophies take the form of Britannia, the female personification of Britain. Adjaye has designed a slightly different version of the character’s traditional form.

My take on the Brit trophy is the manifestation of a great material forged in fire and shaped into the body of a woman. She is unique, and proportionally she is very different,” said the architect.

Previous Brit Award statues have been designed by Vivienne Westwood, Damien Hurst, Tracey Emin, Zaha Hadid, Peter Blake and Anish Kapoor.

The ceremony will be hosted by comedian Jack Whitehall for the second year running. The Fresh Meat star took over presenting duties in 2018, but hosts before him have included Davina McCall, Chris Evans, Russell Brand, Kylie Minogue and Dermot O’Leary.

Leave a Response